Losing to a Lavender Team. Gross. RFE Falls 4-2.

Rock, Flag, and Eagle lost for the first time this season, dropping to the Uptown Roamers 4-2.  The loss gives RFE a record of 1-1-1, which sounds like some kind of deal Papa John’s offers during football season.  One large pizza!  One order of cheese sticks!  And one case of regret, as you stare in the mirror and see your paunchy sodium face, hold your bloated stomach, and wonder where it all went wrong.

img_john-wPeel-works

For starters, it went wrong when the Uptown Roamers opened up the game with two easy goals, taking a 2-0 lead.  I’d say it was before RFE had a chance to get warm, but that would be criminally wrong.  It was 98-degrees.  I half expected Nick Lachey to show up and sing us a little number.  Or at least the ugly one since he’s definitely not busy filming The Sing-Off, season 4.

98 degrees

GOO! One of these things is not like the others.

But, Shaina Ross wanted everyone knew she was back.  So, not only did she play the entire game, at full force, during a heat wave, uphill both ways, but she also was sure to put one in the back of the net.  On a scrambling offensive set that left the entire Uptown Roamers defense confused and off-their-guard, Shaina received a bouncing ball in front of the net and corralled that sucker to get RFE back in the game, 2-1.

In the second half, the Uptown Roamers continued to dominate the ball, stepping in to intercept passes and create offense from their defense.  Pretty frustrating, if you ask me.  After ripping a shot from just inside the 18 yard-line,Uptown Roamers led 3-1.  And shortly after that, another goal for the stupid lavender team.  Losing 4-1 doesn’t feel so great.

Over the many seasons we’ve played in this league, we’ve learned that goal differential is often the difference between playoffs and getting played out.  So, RFE knows better than to give up.  In the waning minutes of the game, Josh Bard sprinted down the sideline like a concussion-prone gunner on a punt return.

gunner

Bard, who is so fast it’s annoying, hung on-sides long enough to receive a perfectly threaded ball from middie Fabian Galvez, took a touch, and neatly dropped it passed the charging keeper.

Though the game would end 4-2 and put the first tally in the loss column, the refusal to give up shows the mettle of RFE this season.  Tonight, RFE faces The Firm, the first place and defending champions.  RFE has nothing to lose, which means The Firm may have a bigger fall than when Nas, Foxy Brown, and AZ decided to pursue solo careers.

I'm an imp. I’m the youngest and smallest in a loud Irish family, which taught me that I will be interrupted unless I make my points (a) entertaining, (b) brief, or (c) outrageous. Being correct is immaterial. This is very good training for writing columns. I am not easily moved or offended, but I am easily amused. I enjoy writing for myself as much as I enjoy writing for an audience. I have several screenplays that sit on a hard drive, and I just like knowing they’re there. I also love soccer, basketball, running marathons, and milk. Professionally, I manage projects, staff, clients, and operations at a UX show that does websites and applications. Before that, I conducted opinion research at a public affairs firm. And before that, I got my Master of Public Policy at the University of Southern California and B.A. from the University of Maryland. I have lived in Washington, D.C. since 2007.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Soccer

Leave a Reply

